United Nations Administrative Tribunal






Mr. Dayendra Sena Wijiwardane (Sri Lanka), President

Sir Bob Hepple (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), First Vice-President

Mr. Goh Joon Seng (Singapore), Second Vice-President

Mr. Spyridon Flogaitis (Greece)

Ms. Jacqueline R. Scott (United States)

Ms. Brigitte Stern (France)

Mr. Agustin Gordillo (Argentina)





1.         The Tribunal shall be composed of seven members, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State. Members shall possess judicial experience in the field of administrative law or its equivalent within their national jurisdiction. Only three members shall sit in any particular case.


2.         The members shall be appointed by the General Assembly for four years and may be reappointed once. A member appointed to replace a member whose term of office has not expired shall hold office for the remainder of his or her predecessor’s term, and may be reappointed once.


3.         The Tribunal shall elect its President and its two Vice-Presidents from among its members.


4.         The Secretary-General shall provide the Tribunal with an Executive Secretary and such other staff as may be considered necessary.


5.         No member of the Tribunal can be dismissed by the General Assembly unless the other members are of the unanimous opinion that he or she is unsuited for further service.


6.         In case of a resignation of a member of the Tribunal, the resignation shall be addressed to the President of the Tribunal for transmission to the Secretary-General. This last notification makes the place vacant.


English  |  Français


Overview  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  UNAT Home   Links  | U.N. Home Page  | Search

Statute  |  Rules  |  Membership  |  Competence  |  Receivability  |  Application Process  |  Judgements

UNAT Statement of Policy of "Certification" & "Internet Publication"

 Copyright, United Nations Administrative Tribunal, 2006-2009.